Fourth Annual Music Educator of the Year and New Art Educator of the Year Awards Open for Nominations!


The CSO is pleased to announce the addition of an Art Educator of the Year Award along with our annual Music Educator of the Year Award.  Two educators will be presented with this award on stage at Umstattd Performing Arts Hall at the orchestra’s January 25th MasterWorks concert.


Submit your nominations here: Music Educator of the Year Award Nomination Form

To nominate an Art Educator, please visit or


Nominations for the award are open from mid-October to November 15, 2019.  The finalists will be chosen by a panel of qualified judges from the community. All nominees will be recognized at the MasterWorks concert and a pre-concert celebration. The nominee must be a licensed Music or Art Educator in a public, private or parochial school classroom setting in Grades K-12, in the region served by the Stark County Educational Service Center. Educators from all fields of music and visual art are eligible. The honored Educators will receive an award of $500 to be used at their discretion. Former recipients are not eligible to win the award in consecutive years.

Award Characteristics:
The purpose of this annual event is to promote a greater understanding of and appreciation for music and art education as well as to honor those individuals who are making a real difference in our community through their dedication to arts education. Nominees should be music educators who:

  • make a lasting difference in the lives of students from a variety of backgrounds and abilities;
  • routinely “go above and beyond the call of duty” by extending efforts with students outside the classroom;
  • make a significant impact on their community through music or art education;
  • inspire students to reach appropriately high levels of musical and artistic understanding and ability;
  • instill a lifelong appreciation of music and art in their students.


Past Recipients:

2019 – Linda David, Perry Local Schools  (Music Education Award)
2018 – Brian Kieffer, Plain Local Schools (Music Education Award)
2017 – Elizabeth Barkan, Fairless Local Schools (Music Education Award)