Celebration of Canton Symphony Orchestra


To conclude our season’s theme of celebration, Canton Symphony Orchestra features orchestra members Meghan Guegold (Principal Horn) and Cristian Zimmerman (Concertmaster) in a grand finale.

Zimmerman will perform Sergei Prokofiev’s Concerto No. 1. At its premiere, audiences and critics did not properly appreciate it, but it would eventually rise from the ashes and gain lasting acclaim. The works opens ethereally, gains momentum and becalms; both in the first movement and in the entire piece.

Guegold will perform Richard Strauss’ Horn Concerto #1, one of the most celebrated horn concertos in the orchestral repertoire. Composed long before Strauss became famous for his tone poems, such as Also Sprach Zarathustra, the composition is typical of Strauss’ early style, showing the influence of Mendelssohn.


Sibelius                  Karelia: Alla marcia

Suppe                     Overture: Poet & Peasant

Prokofiev              Concerto No. 1 for Violin, Op. 19


Strauss                  Horn Concerto No. 1

Rachmaninoff     Vocalise

Chabrier               España



Cristian Zimmerman, violin

Meghan Guegold, horn


$10 / $20 / $30 / $40
Student Tickets (18+ with ID): FREE
Children 17 and under: FREE
* Children’s and Student tickets available over the phone or at the box office day of show with ID*
Box Office, 330-452-2094

2331 17th St. NW
Canton, Ohio  44708

Box Office: 330-452-2094
Administration: 330-452-3434
Fax: 330-452-4429

© 2012–2020 Canton Symphony Orchestra