Canton Symphony Returns!

Our MasterWorks Series is the main focus of Canton Symphony Orchestra’s operations. These concerts dive deep into the rich and vibrant history of classical music. This year, we are focusing on composers that have previously been ignored, underappreciated, or undiscovered while still acknowledging the classics we all know and love.

All five of these concerts are included in the base subscription package.

March 5th @ 7:30pm

CSO Principal Horn Meghan Guegold and Concertmaster Cristian Zimmerman will play Strauss and Prokofiev concertos, respectively. Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges was a French Classical composer, virtuoso violinist, conductor of the leading symphony orchestra in Paris, and a renowned champion fencer. His Symphony No. 2 will be performed in Umstattd Hall for the first time.

March 26th @ 7:30pm

The first selection of this program is Johannes Brahms’ Tragic Overture, a concert overture written in 1880. He chose the title “tragic” to emphasize the turbulent, tormented character of the piece, in essence a free-standing symphonic movement. Sara Davis Buechner will be featured for Clara Schumann’s Piano Concerto. Buechner is a world-renowned pianist known for her virtuosity, imaginative vision, and emotional dynamacy. Closing, we will perform Robert Schumann’s Symphony No. 3.

April 30th @ 7:30pm

An ode to a brighter future, join us in celebration as we reflect on a period of strife in our country and world – and our triumphant finale to our long-awaited return. GRAMMY award-winning composer Joan Tower is lauded by The New Yorker as “one of the most successful woman composers of all time.” We will be featuring her Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman No. 1, along with Vaughan Williams’ Serenade to Music and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 to conclude this season of new beginnings and an epic return to the stage.

May 22nd @ 7:30pm

MasterWorks returns after almost two full years of being away from Umstattd Hall. Daniel Perttu’s A Planet’s Odyssey will feature Canton favorite Jeffrey Biegel on piano. Originally slated for our 2019-2020 MasterWorks season, it was rescheduled due to the pandemic. We are over the moon to still be featuring this world premiere by Perttu. Jessie Montgomery’s Starburst will also make its first appearance in Canton.

June 25th @ 7:30pm

A concert of epic proportions, Triumphant Tchaikovsky will feature violinist Jinjoo Cho on the eponymous composer’s Violin Concerto. As a charismatic female solo artist, Jinjoo is redefining what it means to be a consummate classical musician in the modern society. Rick Robinson’s exuberant and resounding Essay No. 1 will be played alongside Sibelius’ Third Symphony, which was its inspiration.

2331 17th St. NW
Canton, Ohio  44708

Box Office: 330-452-2094
Administration: 330-452-3434
Fax: 330-452-4429

© 2012–2020 Canton Symphony Orchestra