Prelude for Strings
November 14, 2021 @ 7:30PM


$10 / $20 / $30 / $50
Student Tickets (18+ with ID): FREE
Children 17 and under: FREE
* Children’s and Student tickets available over the phone or at the box office day of show with ID*
Box Office: 330-452-2094


Twenty-five years young but already a widely acclaimed force to be reckoned with, composer Quinn Mason makes his Umstattd Hall and Canton Symphony Orchestra debuts. Mason already has over ten major orchestral compositions to his name, and his music has been performed by such orchestras as the Dallas and Utah Symphonies, among many others. His delightful Irish Dance Suite takes its inspiration from the folk music of Ireland and the string orchestra suites of Gustav Holst.

Ernest Bloch was similarly inspired when writing his Concerto Grosso No. 1, the third movement of which incorporates folk dances of his native Switzerland. The piece has a fascinating backstory and an interesting connection to Northeast Ohio. Bloch served as conductor and professor of composition at the Cleveland Institute of Music in the 1920s. At a time when atonality and dissonance were the pervading styles of the day, Bloch penned the work to prove to his (skeptical) composition students that lyricism, tonality, and older forms such as fugue could still be used in new ways. Evidently, the point was well taken upon the work’s premiere by the CIM Orchestra! The concert concludes with beloved Czech composer Antonin Dvorak’s Serenade for Strings in E major, whose finale is also reminiscent of folk music – this time of the composer’s native Czech Republic.

Updated COVID-19 Policy

Please note, all patrons must provide proof of vaccination or negative COVID test within 48 hours of the performance. Children under 12 are exempt. Status will be checked at the entrance upon arrival. Masks will be required for everyone while inside the building. No refunds will be given for failure to provide proof of vaccination or negative test results. Click here for more information.


Irish Dance Suite………………….Quinn Mason
Concerto Grosso No. 1…………………….Bloch
Andante Festivo…………………………..Sibelius
Serenade in E Major……………………….Dvořák


Quinn Mason (b. 1996) is a composer and conductor based in Dallas, Texas.  Quinn has been described as “a brilliant composer just barely in his 20s who seems to make waves wherever he goes.” (Theater Jones) and “One of the most sought after young composers in the country” (Texas Monthly). 

His orchestral music has received performances in the US by the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, San Francisco Symphony, Utah Symphony Orchestra, Toledo Symphony Orchestra, West Virginia Symphony Orchestra, South Bend Symphony Orchestra, National Youth Orchestra of the United States (NYO), Marquette Symphony Orchestra, New England Conservatory Philharmonia, National Orchestral Institute Philharmonic, Symphoria, MusicaNova Orchestra, Oregon Mozart Players, Orchestra Seattle, the River Oaks, Mission and Lowell chamber orchestras and in Europe by the Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della RAI.


Brad & Sue Goris

2331 17th St. NW
Canton, Ohio  44708

Box Office: 330-452-2094
Administration: 330-452-3434
Fax: 330-452-4429

© 2012–2020 Canton Symphony Orchestra